VTT (FGU) - What features do you want in a ruleset

This is a place for G.M.s and GM wannabes to share ideas and their own methods of play. It is not a locked forum so be aware your players may be watching!

Moderators: Immortals, Supreme Beings, Old Ones

HarpoMa
D-Bee

VTT (FGU) - What features do you want in a ruleset

Unread post by HarpoMa »

Hello everyone,

I am creating a Palladium universe ruleset for the Fantasy Grounds Unity platform and I wanted to know what areas are your (GMs) greatest pain points and could use some automated help from a VTT platform.

I have limited experience in the GM area but it seems to me that the first point of pain is character creation so that is my starting point but I want to know the war stories that would have been greatly helped with some automation. The more input I get the better I can make the experience.

Automation Wishlist

1. Character Creation
    2. Auto updating character sheet w/ tabs for basic info, combat bonuses, psionics, magic, equipment, etc.
    3. Opponent tracker (basic bonuses/damage/MDC/map token

Thanks,
HarpoMa

--edits: additions to the list.
Last edited by HarpoMa on Sat Jul 10, 2021 5:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Kraynic
Dungeon Crawler

Re: VTT (FGU) - What features do you want in a ruleset

Unread post by Kraynic »

I'm not sure you can do that much automation without running afoul of IP rights. It is fine in your private game, but publicly publishing it might be a problem.
HarpoMa
D-Bee

Unread post by HarpoMa »

Kraynic wrote:I'm not sure you can do that much automation without running afoul of IP rights. It is fine in your private game, but publicly publishing it might be a problem.

I know that Palladium is looking to make a FGU ruleset so I'm not worried about IP rights. I'm certain I will be able to get that sorted. I'm really interested in what people want so that it fill the need rather than blinding building functions that no one wants.